Meet Our Staff

wesleyan woods camp vassar mi

Meet Our New Camp Director, Ben Freitas

Dear Friends,

Growing up in a broken home, I experienced turmoil and instability from a young age. Interestingly, Wesleyan Woods became a place of solace for me during my childhood. My older sister would often drop me off at camp to go fishing, providing me with moments of peace amidst life's challenges.

Seven years ago, my world shattered around me, leaving me feeling alone and broken. In that moment of despair, I humbly surrendered to the divine grace of Jesus Christ. His mercy offered me a second chance, reuniting me with my family and illuminating a path of service and redemption.

Guided by faith in Jesus Christ, he has led me to roles in Youth Ministry and leading a Recovery Program. In December of 2021, I embarked on a new chapter, leaving my secular job behind to become the Lead Chaplain for two county jails—a testament to God's transformative power in my life.

Now, entrusted with the leadership of Wesleyan Woods Campground, I am humbled by the opportunity to steward a place that holds such profound significance in my journey. As a young boy, I found solace and peace within these grounds, unaware of the divine purpose unfolding around me. Today, I am committed to ensuring that Wesleyan Woods remains a sanctuary—a safe haven where individuals can find solace, community, and connection with the divine.

I am eager to witness the unfolding of God's plan within these sacred grounds and to be an instrument of His grace and love. Together, let us embark on this journey of faith and fellowship, as we nurture a space where hearts are healed, spirits are renewed, and lives are transformed.

I cannot wait to meet you soon out at Wesleyan Woods, either at your campsite or the Gibson Center for Ice Cream. Your presence at Camp is greatly valued!

In His Service,

Ben Freitas
Camp Director
Wesleyan Woods Campground

campground staff central mi

Alex Fledderjohann

Program Director

Meet Our Board of Directors

Randy Wellman / President

Dave Verbeek / Secretary

Shelly Hamilton / Treasurer

Dale Prior
Leonard Ruggles
Terry Blackmer
Delbert Gibson
Nate Kingsbury
Bradley Harris
Whitney Hardacre